I think my Ewe is in labor! Autumn didnt make it..nor the babies. :(

justusnak

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
So, one of the rescues....Pearl...I think is in labor. She went down in the pasture this afternoon....couldnt get up. I called the vet..he did a vag exam..said she is not dialated. Might be toxemia...might be early labor. He was NO HELP!
I have a pic...tell me...labor!?? I think..YES!
She is on her tummy....looks like leg spasms...panting..grunting...
Can you tell I am new to this!?? LOL :barnie
22_pearlinl.jpg

justusnak

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
The ONLY thing he left for me to give her was the glucose. I am going to call him in the morning, and ask about the vitamin B shot. I was reading on that earlier. She is laying on her tummy....and I just came in from checking on her....she has a white gooey stuff slightly draining from her.....area. :rolleyes: She just looks so tired..and weak. I fear the worst. :(

username taken

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
You NEED to get someone, vet or farmer, who is experienced with sheep, to look at her.

First thing that needs to be determined, is whether she is lambing, or whether she is down with preg tox.

Its not that difficult. Either she is weak and cant get up. Or she is straining and trying to lamb.

If she isnt lambing, just gone down with preg tox, you need to get a ketosis mixture into her. ANd lots of it. They are usually an oral solution. A milk fever injection for cows will also not go astray. SHe needs feed and water brought to her, and if at all possible she needs to be made to get up and walk around, every hour or so. If she doesnt get up, this needs to continue until she lambs, usually they will get a whole lot better shortly after lambing. But, if she doesnt respond to treatment, and she gets worse before she lambs, it may be necessary to induce her, even if it is too early for the lamb to survive, in order to save the ewe.