Icelandic ewe relentlessly butting her 2 herdmates( including 1 goat)

farmingwithfive

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
hi everyone,
I have only a few years experience keeping livestock, but I've kept icelandic sheep and goats together in the past, no problem ( they can even share minerals) so my current herd is only 3, my very pregnant nubian goat and 2 icelandic ewes(possibly pregnant, were with the ram for one week before I picked them up in march)
well, I have one ewe who is relentlessly butting the other girls! I had to split their area of the barn so she doesn't injure my pregnant goat, and now she just pounds on the other ewe, constantly. the other ewe even lays on the ground to try to avoid it, she gives up challenging the mean ewe and she still gets pounded in the head and stomach too

2 more points..yes I could put the nicer ewe with the goat, but I have seen her butt the goats tummy on occasion during feeding and don't want the baby kid injured because my goats due in about a week. putting each girl in 3 separate sections seems a bit much too me.

also, the mean ewe just had a natural "break" in her wool, which means it just pulls out easily, like shedding. this did not happen with the other ewe. online research led me to read that pregnant iceIandic ewes can have this natural break in wool in spring (and Rams too). anyone experience this before and, if this means she's pregnant, is that possibly why she's Soo mean?

I don't want to have to protect my herd from someone in my own herd☹️

sorry this is Soo lengthy and thanks in advance

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. I have never kept goats and sheep together. I have hair sheep and they all get a long pretty good. You said you got these sheep in March. Maybe their problem is that you didn't raise them, raise them with goats and the sheep just don't get along with goats.