If I run my boar and sows together how do I deal with birthing piglets

Pumpkinpup

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I am very new to breeding pigs. I have raised a shoat for meat many times but never had my own boar and sow before now and need advice on housing and management of the two sows and boar.
I fear if I run them together that the babies will be put at jepordy by the other sow and boar. What to I do to handle this situation?

jhm47

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
You MUST separate them when they get close to farrowing. If you don't, the babies will likely be crushed by the older ones.

kstaven

Purple Cow/Moderator
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Crushing and violence is a very real potential, but not necessarily something that will happen. Space and individual traits of the animal are big determining factors in this. We have a friend here who ranges 50+ and never pens. Some people just seem to be able to manage animals in ways that others say are impossible.

Pumpkinpup

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I am not lucky enough to have large paddocks. I had considered building a three stall hog house with small open paddock connected to each stall and give the animals the choice to go in and out at their own whim. I have two sows and a boar. If I did it this way each hog would have it's very own space.
How do you think this would work?

jhm47

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
One of our neighbors used to raise his pigs this way. They usually all ganged up in the same pen, but when a sow got ready to farrow, she would go into her own "private" pen and have her babies. Worked quite well for him.

WallTenters

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I raised breeding pigs for several years with a lot of success... some advice: