Information about how much pasture a Scotch Highland Cattle needs?

Nichole Olie

Just born
Reaction score
I was reading up on the amount of grazing land i would need and i read, since they're good grazers, i would only need about 1 - 1.5 acres. But im curious if this is per rotation? So say I have 4 padlocks, I need about 1 acre per cow in each padlock?

So.... 4 acres = 1 cow? Or it's 1 acre all together, because that doesn't sound right at all! Sorry if this sounds so silly, i'm extremely new to all this and trying to do as much research as I possibly can. Thanks!!

Nichole Olie

Just born
Reaction score
Hmmmm... "I have 3 adult Highland cows, 3 yearling bulls and one new calf. I have a 5.5-6 acre pasture split into two paddocks and they aren't even making a dent in the new growth." That was information I was finding in Homesteading Today, with a person in PA. I'm in Ohio, which i know can be a big difference in animal to acres, but 10 acres seems like A LOT. That means i'd need 50 acres for just 5 cattle? :hu

I was hoping to do rotational grazing, into 4 different pastures. I was going to do 7 acres per padlock, with 28 acres all together. And i was thinking that was a lot of land. Haha:D

Bossroo

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Location, location, location ... In California's Sierra Nevada mountains , about 1 mile down the road from my 20 acre ranch is a 3,000 acre ranch. They run a 300= / - beef cow operation and they have to feed hay + grain for 90 days in their feedlot to finish that year's calves for market. Let's see... 3,000 divided by 300 cows = 100 acres per cow ( not including that year's calves in their feedlot ). :ya

bcnewe2

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I don't do cattle so I'm just surmising....