Introduction

wayneleake

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I have been raising goats for over 11 years now, and Barbado sheep about 9 or so.
I'm 80 now, and have COPD, so cannot do as much as I used to.
I live in Imperial Texas, a small community in Pecos County.
My neighbor does most of the feeding for me now.
She loves animals also.
We had to raise a bottle baby last year, because her mama was young and refused to let her suckle.
I did manage to get a few tablespoons worh of Colostrum that we mixed with the milk replacer.
She has done well, and is out with the rest. Though she was penned away from the rest, she was not isolated from them.
I hope to not have to do that again.

Wayne WA2YNE

Devonviolet

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome @wayneleak. So nice to have you join us. :frow

As @RollingAcres said DH & I live in Texas. We are in NE TX near Sulphur Springs.

That you love your animals & found help caring for then, when you are not able is a good indicator of your moral fiber.

DH & I are in our late 60s (me), early 70s (DH), and there some days it is a challenge to care for the animals.

I'm not sure if we will still have our animals when DH turns 80. :th :old

wayneleake

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hello @wayneleake and welcome to BYH! Glad you joined us!
@Baymule @Latestarter @greybeard @Devonviolet are in Texas as well.

Welcome @wayneleak. So nice to have you join us. :frow

As @RollingAcres said DH & I live in Texas. We are in NE TX near Sulphur Springs.

That you love your animals & found help caring for then, when you are not able is a good indicator of your moral fiber.

DH & I are in our late 60s (me), early 70s (DH), and there some days it is a challenge to care for the animals.

I'm not sure if we will still have our animals when DH turns 80. :th :old
Texas is a pretty large state. I know some places, but many I do not.
I moved here for good in 2005, and got my first goats in 2006.