Is it possible?

farmlifewannabe

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I am still pretty new to raising goats and learning daily. My question is... is it possible that my wether got my doe pregnant? The lady we got him from kept changing how many weeks he was and didn't mention until we drove 2.5 hours to pick him up that he had just got banded minutes before we arrived! He was roughly 7-9 weeks old. My doe was in heat around the time we brought him home. She wasn't too keen on him but we did catch him on her a few times. Didn't think anything of it until I realized I haven't noticed her in heat since. I've been paying extra close attention to her in the last 2.5 weeks, nothing except tail wagging daily. She would be 10-11 weeks along if she is. Mainly I need to know to prepare our barn and her vet check. Her belly seems bigger underneath bairly. She's been grazing much more but that may just be the new yummy plants. Her lady parts are swollen on the outside and top. I feel a bit crazy lately thinking it may be possible.

ldawntaylor

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Hi and welcome.

In my experience it is possible. Although in my situation it was a 8 week old doeling that got pregnant. I didn't know a thing about it until I went to the goat shed one morning and there the kid was. And that 7 month old doe was the one with the evidence of birthing.

It was kind of amusing in an odd way. Or maybe it is just my sense of humor...but after the kid would nurse from the doeling, she would go nurse from her mother.

farmlifewannabe

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hi and welcome.

In my experience it is possible. Although in my situation it was a 8 week old doeling that got pregnant. I didn't know a thing about it until I went to the goat shed one morning and there the kid was. And that 7 month old doe was the one with the evidence of birthing.