is this true?

Karl Atkins

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Hello,
as you know I am new to this pig thing. my wife talked to some one and said we need to deworm our pigs every month. so she went to the feed store and bought a bottle of Wazine. Back in Kansas I never remembered my dad doing such a thing. any was the guy at the feed store says to soak a slice of bread and feed it to them. Hmm okay so these piglets are afraid of me and run away when they see me coming. so how am I suppose to get each of them to eat a slice of bread? thanks for the help Karl

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
If you bring some treats with you when you go to see them, they are very smart animals (normally and generally speaking) & they will quickly learn to "like" you... maybe even too much... But getting them used to you while young is pretty important for safety sakeas they can be very dangerous animals when fully grown. As for deworming them, from my understanding, it's not a common thing to be done or required, but I don't know as I don't have experience... Maybe @misfitmorgan or @Mini Horses @mysunwolf
or one of the others with pig experience will chime in.

Mini Horses

Herd Master
Reaction score
Yeah, throw treats and they will sure love you! :p Just don't get in their way or try to hand feed.

Any animal can have worms but some are less inclined than others. I never wormed mine. But they had a large area and were switched between a couple pastures every few months.

They were butchered, USDA inspected and passed.

Here's a site I like & their general approach. Specific to worms, below.

http://sugarmtnfarm.com/2005/10/14/worms-au-natural/

Last edited:

misfitmorgan

Herd Master
Reaction score
Whoever your wife talked to is incorrect.