Jersey cow supplemental feed question

istareatsquirrels

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hello and :welcome from Va . Sorry to not get right back to your questions, it has been a very busy and tiring couple of days.
I don't think I am an expert, but I have a few years and cows "under my belt" so to speak.

Re reading your thread, I have to totally agree with @Alaskan as far as not changing from what the previous person was doing for the immediate future. ,
You say she is small size wise.... but small in comparison to what? Jerseys as a whole are getting bigger, too big in my opinion; in order to compete in the commercial dairy world. Since I work in the dairy industry, I can understand it to a point... but doesn't mean I think it is all good.
A normal sized jersey cow, should weigh in the 800-1000 range overall. They are the most "delicate looking" but are not frail cattle. Their angular build is common to all dairy cattle, and will look "thin " to someone who is used to beef breeds of cattle.
Since you have never had a cow, I hope this family member is willing to mentor you a bit.
I have several that I have used for milk for the house, and have used as nurse cows to raise calves on. They will feed 3-4 calves.... their own and then others I foster/graft on to them to feed. I am assuming that is what was meant by her being a nanny cow.
1 acre is not going to supply much of the requirements for the cow unless you can split it into a couple of smaller paddocks to rotational graze her. It'll be great in the spring when growth is fast and lush, but that will be offset by the animals getting more "water" from the grass, than just nutrition.