Just bought skinny milk cow. Help with feed pls

freetodream

Just born
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie here but wondering if you all could help me and my inexperience :) We just brought home our first milk cow last night and she's verrry skinny. Like bsc 1.5 as far as I can tell. She's a 5yr old Guernsey and was fresh in March of this year. She was at an organic dairy and being fed rolled barley, pasture and a little alfalfa at night. She's milking about 4-5 gallons/day and also about 30 days bred and I'd like to keep her that way if possible. I've had show horses for years so I'm fairly well versed on feeding them but I don't know what if anything is different about feeding a milk cow. Obviously she needs to gain weight but I'm not sure the best way to do that safely. She's not fond thus far of my grass/alfalfa mix hay so I bought some straight alfalfa today and so far she likes that much better. I have COB as well and the feed store guy sold me some Purina Show Chow grower (apparently meant for steers but he said it's high energy and would work for me too) because he didn't have any dairy mix. I'm open to any and all suggestions I just want to do this right lol. Thanks for any help I appreciate it.
Kjersti

Wolf-Kim

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Can't help on the feeding, but I would love to see pics of her. It may help those more experienced in this area to evaluate it themselves. She may not be as bad as she seems.

-Kim

Farmer Kitty

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
freetodream

Your link didn't work but, I think I have it corrected except they say they are doing a little work right now and your image will be back soon. Use the IMG code when posting to the forum

As for feeding her, feed a good quality hay and grain. Go slow with the grain so as not to over do it. I'd start with 6 pounds twice a day.

freetodream

Just born
Reaction score
Ok this time worked. So is she too skinny then or am I just not used to seeing bones lol?