Keeping an Anatolian Shepherd home?

fiddleman94

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I'm trying to find an LGD to protect my goats and I found someone that has a 1 1/2 yo, male Anatolian Shepherd they want to find a home for. The only problem is, they say he won't stay home. Would a fence that keeps goats in keep him in too? I've got two strands of hot wire with a barbed wire fence behind it. He would have approximately 17 acres to run on.

fiddleman94

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
He jumps over 5 ft goat wire and climbs the corner of 8 ft chain-link.

Alice Acres

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
That is a determined escape artist. :(
I would not be at all hopeful he would stay home/ not escape from your place. Bummer.:(

Grazer

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
For some dogs products like this one http://www.petco.com/product/103945...Ground Radio Fence Stubborn Dog System-103945 seem to work wonders. But I have no personal experience with it....maybe someone who does can chime in.
It might be worth a try, if you think it's a good dog.
Although to be quite honest I personally would never get an adult LGD that is so determined to escape because of what might happen to the animals they were supposed to guard when they are gone roaming miles away.
And of course there's always a chance that the dog might get killed by someone/something while he's on the road or on someone else's property :(

fiddleman94

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Those are my concerns exactly. I think that I've about decided to pass on this dog and wait for a pup to come along later.

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
fiddleman- I know of a great 2 yr old female (intact).... I think your smart to pass on this one. The female I know of is only behind a 2-3 strand hotwire that's it... she is very sweet with her people and fine with people she discerns as being OK. Anatolians are great but they just bark too much for me. (hope Straw Hat doesn't see this)