Killer gosling, oh boy

Traci Kennedy

Herd lurker
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm pretty new to all of this, just 5 weeks now. I have 2 brooders, 1 is really just on hold because nights aware still too cold. So there isn't heat in it, but it runs about 75 degrees.

At any rate, I already made an addition to my flock and added some chicks and 1 gosling, all about 10 days old now. I had a couple chicks look the worse for wear and thought one of my cats had somehow gotten in.

They didn't.
I had nursed one of the chicks almost back to health when I saw the gosling pick up a chick and sling it around like nothing. Not even out of meanness, just nibbling the chicks fuzz and the chick came with!

I have her separated now. She's not ready to go into the big girl pen, but away from the little!

Just thought I'd mention it because I had searched topics to see if they could be blooded together and didn't find that it was an issue. Now I know!
ETA brooded not blooded, though as it happens...

Pyxis

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
As you have seen they don't do well together - if you don't have another gosling, which you should. Bear with me, I've created a copy and paste because I have needed it so many times this year.

"You should never have just one goose. They are flock animals and need at least one friend of their own kind. To do otherwise is cruel to them and would be akin to locking you up with just chimpanzees for company in the hopes that you'd get along with them and protect them because you have no other humans to be with and they're the best you can do.