Lamb Questions

WolfeMomma

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Our 2 lambs are almost a month old now, and are already in to their mothers food and eating hay. Is this normal? Why did i think they would stick to just milk lol They seem very healthy, and active so im not too concerned. But as I am a bit of a newbie i wondered if that's how it usually goes.

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
One week old lambs will start mimicking their moms. That's how they learn. Their rumens are not developed yet so they don't get much out of it. I observed my lambs licking dirt from fresh gopher mounds and concluded that something was missing, even though I keep mineral out for the ewes. The lambs eat that too. So I put out Azomite, which is rock dust, and the dirt eating stopped.

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Same thing with baby goats... they start trying out all sorts of things with their mouths at a week old. Have to make sure there's nothing bad around that they could swallow and hurt themselves with... bits of plastic twine (found in hay bales frequently), other plastics, small metal pieces like nails and such.

Sheepshape

Herd Master
Reaction score
Actually our own babies are pretty good at 'mouthing' too!

Happy Xmas and Happy New Year from Wales.....Nadolig LLawen a Blywyddyn Newydd Dda (as much spit as a grumpy alpaca needed for proper pronunciation).

WolfeMomma

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
ah ok thanks everyone! Im trying to figure out when to wean these guys, Im thinking 3 months? at least that seems to be a common wean time from what I have read.

Mike CHS

Herd Master
Reaction score