Larsen Poultry Ranch - homesteading journey

Larsen Poultry Ranch

Herd Master
Reaction score
Hello all, I finally decided to create a journal. I currently live in Placer County, CA in a house on .31 acres with my significant other. I am an accountant and he is an electrician. Together we have 2 cats, 7 rabbits, turkeys, chickens, coturnix quail, button quail, and a dog. The cats currently live with us but the other animals have been moved to our folks' places while we work on the house to get it ready to sell.

We want to buy a property with 10 or more acres so we have space for all the animals and hobbies we dream of having. We have been searching for a while but finally found a property that looks great, the only catch is the seller doesn't want any contingencies, so we need to sell before we can offer. If that falls through, there are a few other properties we have looked at, but this is the only one (MAJOR fixer) with all utilities and a house in our price range.

My goal is to eventually be mostly self sufficient. I can raise and butcher poultry and rabbits, and have helped butcher a pig (BF raised them for 4H). I like to garden but previously did not have a
dedicated space for a vegetable garden. If we get our acreage I will be planting an orchard too.

Senile_Texas_Aggie

Herd Master
Reaction score
Miss @Larsen Poultry Ranch,

Glad to see you start a journal! Now all of us can easily follow along in your adventures.

I hope you are able to sell your house easily and get the place you want.

Have you been affected by the electrical outages in CA? I thought of you and Miss @babsbag and wondering if you two were affected?

I look forward to reading about your adventures!

Senile Texas Aggie

Larsen Poultry Ranch

Herd Master
Reaction score