Looking for goat experts...

iamcuriositycat

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a regular contributor to the Backyard Chickens forum (same user name there as here), and thought I'd join in over here as well. I'm also a professional writer and gradually building a portfolio in the rural living genre.

Right now, I'm working on a proposal to a magazine for an article about raising food in challenging terrain. I raise ducks and I know that when it comes to questions about raising them, the go-to expert is Dave Holderread. I'm wondering if the world of goats has someone (or someones) similar, and who they are. Perhaps the author of the "goat raising bible" or someone who is recognized as a leading expert for some other reason.

Can someone fill me in? I'd be very grateful!!

Oh, and in case you're wondering, I do have goats--just two little wethers. I adore them! They're like little puppy dogs, and I even take them for walks. If ya'll are anything like the folks on the duck board at backyard chickens, you'll want pictures. So, just for fun, this is Quincy enjoying the recent snow:

3063_dsc_0006_2.jpg

Thanks so much for any help!

jodief100

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Dr Frank Pinkerton is generally considered one of a few experts on goat raising and care. He is retired from Langston University and has several books published about goat care.

Roll farms

Spot Master
Reaction score
I second "Dr. Pink"...he's the be-all, end all...
I also like Dr. Dave Sparks, he's at OK state U.
If you want, pm me and I'll give you their email addresses...or look the addy's up in the current Goat Rancher magazine.

iamcuriositycat

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score