Looking for some good ideas and advice for irrigating pastures

soarwitheagles

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Hi again everyone!

We are considering irrigating 1-2 acres for green pasture during the summer months here in central valley, CA.

The PVC lines and sprinklers really are not that expensive and we have an awesome ground saw.

Purchasing and feeding hay for 3-4 months would be expensive. We are trying cut costs.

Just wondering if the electricity bill would be astronomical to run the well pump to irrigate an acre or two.

Also, wondering how feasible it would be to run the well off of a propane generator...would it save on costs for running the well?

Anyone have any ideas, suggestions, ect. for us?

We are all ears!

Thanks!

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
I have no experience in this area, anybody? I would be concerned about running the well for extended periods. Hopefully someone who knows more about this will come along and help out.

frustratedearthmother

Herd Master
Reaction score
Few years back when we were in a drought scenario...(not like these days) I had the best garden I've had in forever...also had a huge bill replacing the water well motor. UGH!

Pamela

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I second and third the caution about using your domestic well to water that much property. We live on 2 acres and only use the domestic well for household needs and watering animals in the winter months. The rest of the time, we use a sandpoint well (shallow well), to water our pastures, yards, garden, and livestock. Hope you find a good solution.

babsbag

Herd Master
Reaction score