• Yes

Votes: 3 75.0%
  • No

Votes: 1 25.0%

• Total voters

MamaMage

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hey you guys! I'm Jess from South Carolina, and I'm totally new to the goat life! Although I havent gotten any goats yet I was hoping that I could get lots of info from you professionals before the time comes ;) my husband and I just got our place in the country FINALLY and I'm so excited to get goats I can hardly stand it! Sadly all of the baby goats are being born NOW and their area here isn't quite ready..one question I have is, when our place is ready in a few months for the goats, should I go ahead and purchase "adult" goats this summer? I kinda wanted babies that I could "snuggle" and raise up super sweet but I know more babies won't really be available until spring of 2018! Are there adult goats out there that I could purchase that are already super sweet? This may be a silly question

dejavoodoo114

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
The advantage of buying adult does this summer is that they will be ready to breed in the fall and you will have your own kids next spring. The disadvantage of looking for does in the summer is that they don't seem to pop up as often. You may have to drive a bit. What kind of predators do you have? Will you have to worry about the kids' safety while setting up their area? Adults are less likely to get sick and die suddenly than kids. You would have an opportunity to learn more and not lose any kids if you start with adults. There are other things to consider but that is a start.

MamaMage

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score