May rescue a horse...underweight........

ducks4you

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Kitiarra said:
I am posting here. Just cause I am new to the horse world and, I have three horses, one thin rescue. The feeding guidelines on the bags are confusing. They are definitely not like feeding dogs, where I just do a scoop etc. I suck at math, and this 10% of body wieght etc, is confusing for me.

My rescue is a 16hh, paint (whom I think has TB) and I am fighting putting weight on her. My neighbor means well, but if it isn't top of the line feed (pure alfalfa etc) it's not good enough. I put a roll out there for them, so they can forage 24/7 (winter pastures stink). And I plan on supplementing with TnA or OnA, also I have been feeding Seminoles PerformSafe. But am now planning on switching to a senior feed, after all the suggestions you have said.

You guys have put in tons of advice, so I am posting so I can find this thread again. I am excited to try the sunflower seed, and the homemade dewormer trick.

Sorry for stealing the thread, but thank you.
You DIDN'T hijack this thread--your question is topical. Most horses that are average height (14'2hh-16hh, or 58 inches to 64 inches high at the withers) AND are average weight, weigh between 900 pounds to 1100 pounds. The "rule of thumb" is one pound of hay/100 pounds of horse.