meat grinders

stonygarden

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I'm fairly new here but I've been lurking for a while. I'm new to chickens and rabbits but I've been doing a lot of research and have learned a lot. I'm hoping to get everything set to start breeding my rabbits within the next month or so. Now I'm starting to research how to process and prepare rabbits. So, I am researching meat grinders before I purchase one. I am looking for a manual grinder since I really just have bad luck with small electric appliances. I have looked at Wal-Mart, bass pro, and amazon and I am finding that every single grinder has extremely mixed reviews (1 star reviews to 5 star reviews).

I would use the grinder for chicken, rabbit, and possibly venison. Anything I grind would be both for my family and my dogs. I'm hoping to use it quite a bit between the rabbits and chickens and possibly some venison. Ground anything is easier to feed to the dogs and is easy to make burgers, meatballs, etc.

Any advice would be very appreciated.

lacasse farms

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I just picked up a couple of old unused ones at a flea market. I'm not quite sure of the name as they are packed away because we are moving. But i always pick up nice old kitchen and food processing equipment at the flea markets. The stuff is built to last, easy to use and no cheap crap to break on it. sorry i cant give you a name brand or anything but the flea market is a great place to find good ones for short money. i paid $15 for two of them. Good luck.

Harbisgirl

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
My mom got one from Cabellas. It was expensive - like $400 - but it is AWESOME. All metal, hand crank. Very heavy. I'll try to find out the make/model and get back to you

Hens and Roos

Herd Master
Reaction score