Meat Rabbit feeding sugestions

Jesse1983

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hello all I am new to raising rabbits and was wondering what amount of feed and the type I should be using? To shed a little light on what I am currently doing now I will explain: First of all we have 1 6month old New Zealand Red buck, 1 6month old New Zealand Red doe, and 1 3month old New Zealand Red doe crossed with a New Zealand White I believe. The 2 does I am feeding 1 cup of Manna Pro Gro and a full small animal hay rack of baled timothy hay. Is this a good feeding regimen? The buck we are feeding the same small animal sized hay rack of baled timothy hay and 1 cup of Country Feed complete Nutrition for all rabbits. And at what age should you stop feeding the Manna Pro Gro? I also have read that you should not be giving your rabbits timothy hay until they are between the ages of 7months to a year old. Is this true and if so does anybody know why and if it will harm the bunnies if given at earlier age. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

animalmom

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome to BYH! Glad you found us, and tickled pink to have you here! A big howdy from North Central Texas, where the stars at night are big and bright.

I raise California and they are comparable to you NZ's in size. I have five rabbits that are 4.5 months old. They have access to coastal hay. Four of the rabbits enjoy peanuts in the shell and get 3 or 4 each morning, the buck who doesn't like peanuts gets three or four raisins in the afternoon. In the late afternoon when I feed them, they get 1/2 cup each of a 16% protein pellet that is from a local mill. They also get 1 teaspoon of black oil sunflower seeds just before I shut them down for the night. All are growing out very well. A half cup is plenty of pellets for these guys.