Messybun’s fence problems.

messybun

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Hello everybody. How do you repair welded wire?
I believe that’s what this is. I’m no fencing expert.
I’ve been told to just reweld it, but I don’t have a welder and can’t really afford one. Is there any other way to fix this?
This fence has been up for a few years now, but with the goats pushing against it sometimes the welds pop. I have electric on the inside, but it’s down more than it’s working. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• 79D0B3BB-3FC2-45B1-A27A-C98A909AD1BF.jpeg
    79D0B3BB-3FC2-45B1-A27A-C98A909AD1BF.jpeg
    833.8 KB · Views: 102
  • 08C712CD-30E7-4945-9356-57A507C95F79.jpeg
    08C712CD-30E7-4945-9356-57A507C95F79.jpeg
    820.8 KB · Views: 101

CLSranch

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
That's what a lot of mine looks like. I am a welder and ain't about to try to weld it back together. You can straighten it by hand use hog rings or tie wire/bailing wire and crimp the pieces back together where they overlay. Add some stakes where it's real bad and maybe a barbed wire over the top that you can attach it to every few feet to keep it from getting pulled back down.
The easiest is to replace the sections that are bad.

Alasgun

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Re-welding fence wire would be an effort in futility! Simply overlay it with another piece, a larger piece that covers the damaged section. If the new piece is a foot larger in all directions you’ll be fine. When you cut the repair piece, leave the tags and twist them into the damaged section all around.

messybun

True BYH Addict
Reaction score