Milking a goat with very small teats?

sawfish99

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Hobbles. We had a doe (2nd freshener) that was constantly kicking the pail. 3 days of hobbles and they were no longer required.

quiltnchik

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
sawfish99 said:
Hobbles. We had a doe (2nd freshener) that was constantly kicking the pail. 3 days of hobbles and they were no longer required.
I also use hobbles in the form of a lead rope tied around the back legs. I've been using it for a couple of weeks and she still hasn't caught on, though doesn't fight the rope nearly as much since she realizes it doesn't get her anywhere, and it has definitely made milking time faster and more pleasant.

mama24

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Thanks for your thoughts! She behaved really well today. And her teats actually seemed a little bigger. Might be my imagination, but they were three fingers length today instead of two. Lol

horsymom

Just born
Reaction score
I'm new to having dairy goats, so I haven't tried it, but I was advised to use a human breast pump on a small teated doe, any thoughts?

eweinHiscare

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
jmead2003 said: