Milking goat problems

Jesusfreak101

Herd Master
Reaction score
OK so I am still quite new to this whole milking business for the most part we have it down. My doe is a first time freshener she would not let her kid eat at all. When I milk her she does kick quite a bit sometimes more then others. Her tears point directly in to the hollow area of her legs which I believe is what causes her to kick when milking.... I don't like her where the tears point it makes it frustrating to milk her. My husband wants to build a new milk stand with what he calls stir ups to keep her from kicking. She doesn't kick out or crazy she stomps more accurately described whic h is still annoying. I have been milking her for a month, she still does the stomping which can hurt when finish milking her by hand at the beganing I use a small milking machine. I just don't think my husband idea for tieing her legs will help in the past when I hobbled her she would freak out more so I stopped and for the most part she has calmed down but would like her to stop completely.

Mini Horses

Herd Master
Reaction score
If you lift a leg it will make it extremely hard to kick/stomp. You use a machine, the hand milk to empty. I believe the hand touching her leg is maybe a problem for her -- ? -- Have you tried holding her udder with one hand, to move from leg, then milking with other? Try massaging udder with machine attached, for last of it?? Is she out of feed, add hay.

These are things I have done. May help.

Terry Farha

Just born
Reaction score
I am new to this website and i am trying out to figure out how to ask a question? But my question is, I have goats are giving me a hard time milking them when they get on stand. I have to run after them first thing and catch them. Once i catch and put on stand they start squatting and i have tried everything. I put corn while they are on stand i still having bad luck. Can someone give me some suggestions.

babsbag

Herd Master
Reaction score