Mini Jersey breeding after calf

Chirpy

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Hi all! I haven't been on here in ages due to a very busy life but I'm now new to cattle and have some learning to do! :)
My mini jersey had a heifer calf in June this year. I am wanting to rebreed but she's nursing the calf and the bull is 1 1/2 hours away. The only sign that my cow has come back into heat was when I caught her mounting our steer out in the pasture. So, I'm not positive if she's cycling again for sure which means she will need to spend extra time at the breeders to make sure we catch her and get her bred due to the distance. I cannot take the calf with her to be bred and the calf is only 3 1/2 months old... how do I get her rebred (I don't want to do AI unless there is no other option) when the calf has to stay here?

jhm47

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
You could always synchronize her and then you'd have an idea of when she's in heat. What's wrong with AI? You should be able to AI her to a top quality bull for less than hauling her 1.5 hours to a bull, and then turning around and hauling her back. Also, the trip will stress her and likely lower her ability to breed.

greybeard

Herd Master
Reaction score
Any chance you could bring the bull to her?
I do understand, that AI techs are more available in some places than others, and costs vary from dirt cheap to pretty expensive, but for just one or 2 females, AI is the way to go.

farmerjan

Herd Master
Reaction score