GaiaGrowers137

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hey all- first question

Are Mini Donkeys, Llamas or Alpacas still a good "guard animal" like their full sized counterparts?

I have Mini Alpine dairy herd and KuneKunes, which are none too large and I wondered if a mini sentry would fit in better 😂 But I worried they might be roo docile? I have only ever seen them in petting zoo's and most the breeders I can find seem to breed them for pets and "sweet temperaments" which doesnt sound effective as a guard 🙃
Thoughts? Opinions? Experiences? I'll take any, I am new to all of this lol

Mini Horses

Herd Master
Reaction score
I raised them and they can have same tendencies as full sized. Look at old posts as donkeys CAN go either way with their "protection" efforts.....from fantastic to dangerous. New additions to their group are often more of a trigger than those they are raised with. It IS DIFFERENT between each individual donkey...personality and their concept of danger, plus their own response to it, a single vs a group, male or female.

Yeah, know what to watch for.

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
Not only that, but you named off prey animals. They might be ok for some situations, but are still prey animals. Alpacas are ONLY a prey animal and should never be used as a guard animal. Mini donkeys can be brought down by a pack of neighborhood dogs out to have a good time. Llamas have size going for them and can be intimidating, but against an apex predator, they will run for their life.