My calves have lice got to git rid of before fair

battygoatlady

Just born
Reaction score
Hi everyone I'm a newbie to the sight and raising cows. We got two bottle calves at the sale barn for the kids to take to the fair. It's been a trip so far and now they have lice :( I've doused them really good twice now with Permectrin and they still have it and are rubbing off their hair. Anything else I can do? Fair starts in 13 days and we gotta get rid of em or at least get it under control so they'll quit rubbing off their hair.

Farmer Kitty

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Eprinex and I believe Ivomectrin. And you need to get rid of them before the fair. No one will appreciate you if you spread them.

amysflock

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I used Ivomectin pour-on on ours after the bull we borrowed in Feb. was sent to us having been treated for lice. I gave my cows and the bull a second dose a couple months later. It took forever for the bull's hair to grow back..was starting to look decent after 16 weeks, but was still noticeably shorter than the rest of his hair.

(Edited to add: I think Ivomectin and Eprinex are the same type of thing, but one is much less expensive than the other.) :)

battygoatlady

Just born
Reaction score