Need advice for bottle baby ASAP..

Janie

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I am new to goats and could really use some advice/reassurance because this goat mama is getting a little paranoid. My female nigerian dwarf kid, Fern, is about 3 weeks old. We bought her from a breeder outside of town and have had her for about 4 days. I'm kicking myself a bit for not double checking the persons advice/instructions, because after getting home and struggling to get her to take to the bottle, I come to find that the older the kid, the harder to transition from teat to plastic nipple. On top of this, I was instructed to feed DuMor Goats Kid Milk Replacer for the next 3-4 weeks before weaning, come to find many have issues with feeding milk replacer as well as switching from dams milk straight over. I have been nervously adhering to this instruction, hoping that if the seller told me it was fine then this baby goat will be fine but now I have my doubts!

I have been mixing (and /trying/ to feed) Fern around 24 oz of milk replacer (calculated as 15% of her body weight of 10lbs) spread throughout the day, usually at 5 am, 9 am, 12 PM, 2pm, 6 PM and 8 PM. I know the hours between feedings are inconsistent, but really I give her the bottle whenever she acts hungry because I have been having such a hard time getting her to accept the nipple. Sometimes she only takes an oz or two at a time. I have at max gotten her to drink about 16-18 oz through the course of the day and I'm so worried she is not eating enough. I cant tell if maybe she just doesnt like the milk replacer or she is just still figuring out the nipple? I worry most that she has a lack of appetite, though she nibbles grain and browses the yard between naps.