Hamiam

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
I am new to BYC but not new to chickens. Years ago, my husband built me a chicken tractor out of our son's radio flyer wagon. I decided to go bigger this time & bought a goat trailer to modify. The lighting isn't so great in the pictures, I'm not sure if you can see the floor is thick rubber. When the chicks are full grown, I'll remove the rubber mats (I'll use pine shavings for now & clean daily) We took off the flat medal roof & welded on metal rafters & installed roof. We still have to cut thru the metal front (closest to hitch) to install a nesting boxes. We'll use an electric netting fence around the chicken tractor while they free range in the pasture but still close them up at night. My question is placement of the roosting bars. We have so many coons around here & I fear if the electric fence were to ever fail, they could reach in & grab a hen. I've thought about putting chicken wire on one side & putting the roosting bars to that side. We are not sure yet about how we will winterized the coop. Removable panels? It gets so hot here in the DFW area, ventilation is very important. We do plan on making a platform on the rear side behind the tire for a water container & run horizontal nipples inside. Unsure on the feeder but maybe a PVC pipe type. I would love to have some opinions on how you would make this trailer into a chicken tractor. See if you can spot our black Dog, Bella. She's been a big help!

21hens-incharge

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I would use 1/2inch hardware cloth instead of chicken wire. Coons can rip through and reach through chicken wire.

It looks like the existing wire should keep larger critters out. What about weasels and snakes? Not sure what critters are in your area. You may want to do the hardware cloth the whole way around at least 2 foot up. If a hen is napping by unprotected wire she could still be grabbed.