Need help please!!

Hardingn88

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I have a 5 year old mini hereford. I'm completely new to cattle so its definitely been a learning curve on my end. She was bred when I purchased her but I'm unsure on what her breed date is but she has started to show signs for a few weeks now. (I was confident she was going to birth 3 weeks ago). She has been springing for min 4 weeks as well as bagging up.
She starting strutting her teats last week and the tail head has been raised since then as well. Friday night she was walking around with her tail slightly raised for a few hours but then went back to normal by the next morning. She's had mucus discharge for a few months now.
As of this morning the baby was still kicking (I'm currently at work) I'm going to attach pictures and see if this would be cause to call a vet out or wait a few more days. The photo was taken last night.
Thank you guys ahead of time

Attachments

• 20220417_180343.jpg
    20220417_180343.jpg
    593 KB · Views: 126

farmerjan

Herd Master
Reaction score
I see nothing that would need a call to the vet at this point. It is hard to tell from the pictures how full her udder is; or the shape of the vulva and how loose it is. Many cows will have a discharge off and on before they calve. Some show nothing... then are off by themselves with a new calf on the ground.
Since she is 5, I am assuming she has calved before. That is encouraging as she ought to know what she is doing. If you can still feel the calf moving, or see it on her side when they turn or kick , then the calf has not moved into position to be born yet.
The problem is not having any idea of when she got bred. How long have you had her? Was she preg checked when you got her? The vet should have been able to give you a good idea of approx how far along she was.