Need help with CL!!

Lonelygoat

Just born
Reaction score
Hi! I just had my goat tested for CL and she came up positive with a titer of 1:142. Sadness!! She's never had an abscess since I've had Her, but had a cough and runny nose for quite a while:( I'm supposed to be getting more goats in a month. She's been EVERYWHERE on our acre. Could my whole property be contaminated if her runny nose was internal CL?? I should have tested her as soon as I got her or better yet not taken a free untested goat!!:( I have no experience as my only other goats were tested clear. I didn't do my homework. The person I got her from is a dear friend who has lots of sheep and Does not disease test. Argh. My poor goat. Should I euthanize and forget goats for a while??!!

Donna R. Raybon

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
That is a bummer. OK, here is reality..... if it were me. I would ask the friend closely about any abscess history in her sheep/goats, has she ever vaccinated (CL vaccinated have risk of false positive.)
I would at this time put a hold on any new additions. I would wait a few weeks and retest. These tests are super sensitive for false positive. In other words they are more likely to give a false positive than a false negative. So, wait and retest. I would never put down an animal on evidence of just a single test unless there were visible abscess lumps (symptoms visible.)

Everything I have read on CL says it can stay on surfaces and be viable for up to two years. I have never had it, but have had several friends do battle with it. They did pretty good by culling all with any visible knots, abscesses, and vaccinating all kids.

That she has a runny nose, etc... could be just stress from having moved to new owner? Or, it could be internal lung abscess (usually they feel a lot more poorly though with lung abscess) or it could be OPP/CAEV. If you retest her, I would at same time get a draw to test for OPP/CAEV since she was with sheep.