New from New Hampshire

CrockpotGodess

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Newbie here, from Brookline NH. Been lurking a while reading everything I can gobble up. Been researching this for a year. Everything I started with said read, read, read. I waited to purchase until I was sure. Hubs and I are looking at La Manchas and alot of the family is hinting they want NDs. I have found a farm, breeder, nearby I want to reach out to and start a relationship with. Need to look into local hay and vets. Hoping to reserve a milking doe and a kid. So excited.

Our chicken addiction has us at 25 chicks. So I have learned to start slow. We have 5 acres of browse, forest, and a pasture. Need housing and fencing. Planning away at that now. Any NH or MA people have housing tips for our area. I have read a lot about fencing and am prepared to set up a great fence. Good vet recommendations or love a hay provider? I would love to hear from you. Anyone notice common predators in southern NH go after your goats?

I am all questions and excitement.

Pastor Dave

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome from Indiana:frow

I like your screen name. We make lots of crock pot meals. I know @Bruce is up that neck of the woods, but VT I think, not NH. He might still be able to help out on housing recommendations.

Glad you've arrived. Settle in and have fun.

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Greetings and welcome. Please make yourself at home & continue browsing at your leisure. Consider adding your location to your profile... If you ask for help, it has a huge bearing on recommendations (temp/humidity/altitude/etc). Old folks like myself will never remember from the title of this thread... :old