New goat... (updated pic post 23)

Snowhunter

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
She was sold to me as a Pygmy, but she lacks the stouter bone structure of one, to me anyways (but I'm still a newbie to this) supposedly 1 monthish bred and a few days past kid weaning (that was awesome, she's still bagged up so we tried to milk her some tonight to help relieve pressure and hopefully keep production going, my first time milking, yay!) Oh, and she's approx 2yo and has some little wattles as well

So, here she is...a bit thin and scruffy, but she'll be on mineral and baking soda free choice and grass hay, just like the 3 others we have, and will slowly be introduced to some grain.

2186_new_goat_001.jpg

2186_new_goat_003.jpg

ksalvagno

Alpaca Master
Reaction score
Congratulations! She looks like she has some Nigerian in her. Not sure if she is pure but definitely not 100% Pygmy.

Snowhunter

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Thank You!!! I was kinda thinkin that might be a possibility...

I can say, the small teats are a PAIN to milk.. goodness!! But after a few minutes I kinda had the hang of it. She even stood while my DH held her and the kids had her munching on some privet hedge. Thinking maybe she'd been milked before? She is an absolute sweetie.. the kids can't wait till they can start helping to milk her! (I told em after she settled some more and got used to being milked)

This was an unexpected purchase, so we dont have a stanchion/milking station done yet :lol: Thats on the list for tomorrow.. Guess there's no more sleeping in for me! Oh well, as far as I'm concerned, bein as its to milk, not a problem :D

happydodgefarm6113

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I am new to goats but she sure is pretty, good luck with the milking. It sounds like you got a nice calm doe for getting experience with milking.

Snowhunter

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
happydodgefarm6113 said: