New kid Question

nora

Just born
Reaction score
Hello to all I'm new to goats. I have my first baby goat around 4 1/2 month now
she did not gain any weight. She looks very small as the day she was born.She was weaned around 2 month

What I'm doing wrong
Thank's

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Greetings @nora and welcome to BYH. If you've had the goat for 4 1/2 months and it hasn't grown, you have either not fed it enough or have fed very poor quality food, or the kid has some sort of genetic problem. Have you talked to the person you bought the goat from? Have you taken the goat to a vet (that KNOWS goats) for evaluation? Have you asked for help from anyone nearby that has goats? What breed is the goat? What are you feeding it, in what quantity, and how often? Goats are herd animals... do you have a companion goat for her? Could you take some pictures and post them so we can see what you're seeing? I'll tag some folks who will probably have more questions for you.

@Goat Whisperer @Southern by choice @babsbag @frustratedearthmother @ragdollcatlady @OneFineAcre

babsbag

Herd Master
Reaction score
@Latestarter asked the relevant questions so looking forward to your answers. My biggest concern would be a G-6-S genetic defect if the kid is a Nubian.

OneFineAcre

Herd Master
Reaction score