New Pig Pen is just about complete

rbruno

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Hello All,
I have read a lot of threads on the forum with ideas on building pig pens/shelters which have been very helpful. I thought I would share my pig pen that is just about complete. My plan is to raise to feeder pigs in the spring. Not going to get into breeding or anything like that for right now. Just would like to raise a couple and get some meat in the freezer. One pig will be for my family, and my farrier is going to get the other. We are looking at splitting the cost of the two pigs. I built this pen with just about everything recycled from other projects or reclaimed from other buildings. I had a coworker who had a huge oak tree fall on a small out building at her house. When it hit, it created a huge debris field which I have been picking over for a couple years. Since many things were broken, they were good for bigger projects, but I was able to use a lot in the pen. For me, the good thing of using recycled stuff is the cost. I nice by product is it doesn't all get in the land fill. I even cobbled together enough screws and nails to do the entire project with out going to the hardware store. Basically I had to by mortar/cement, siding and roofing. The rest came from left overs. The building is 10X14. It is divided in half to make a 7X10 shelter for two pigs and a 7X10 feed/storage room. The pigs will have a 32X42 fenced area to move around.