New Ram... behavior help please...

WhiteMountainsRanch

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
We got blessed by someone giving us their 3 year old American Blackbelly ram. He is gorgeous, and friendly! However, he was a bottle baby and has BIG horns and now he's been here 2 weeks and is starting to butt me. I think he is trying to protect his girls but I am not sure how to handle him. Every time he comes close and acts like he wants to butt me I am very gentle and try to ignore him as much as possible. I then scratch him on his neck and *most* of the time he'll go away after a few "fake" head butts, he hasn't hit me hard yet, but I am not wanting it to get to that point so I was wondering if there was anything I needed to do or a certain way I should touch or act around him.

Sheepshape

Herd Master
Reaction score
Well,I'm no expert,but I've had this behaviour from rams and it is particularly likely in bottle lambs as they are unafraid of humans. Horned rams are a particular problem as they hurt a lot more if they butt!

It IS likely that his behaviour is determined by the presence of ewes. He is trying to show them and you that he is the dominant guy around the place and therefore he is the one that they should choose to mate with.

Check with the folk who gave you the ram as to what his prior behaviour is like. Rams are either naturally aggressive (and I wouldn't keep one of these unless he were a prize-winner!) or have potential to be aggressive (e.g in the breeding season or when he is with 'his' ewes, and they are all 'his' as soon as he in the field with them). If he was aggressive before, then you will have to keep away from any contact with him or GET RID OF HIM.