New to BYH. Need Help

NOLA Cub

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
image.jpeg
Hi I am new to BYH. I am a wanna be farmer. Please help me identify the breed of my male rabbit. I want to breed him, but not sure if he is cross or pure. I think he may be a Checkered Giant. The person I got him from said he is a NZ/Californian Cross, then called back and said California Giant. Any help would be greatly appreciated
image.jpeg

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
He is marked similar to an English Spot, but looks to be a mix. English Spots weighs 5 to 8 pounds. Are you raising rabbits for meat? If so, being a pure breed won't make much difference. What kind of does do you have?

NOLA Cub

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I just bought a NZW/California Cross doe to breed. Eventually we would like to get into more with rabbits. My son wants to sell rabbits, so I would like to try and feed his entrepreneurship. I guess this is more of a test run for us before we start making major investments.

NOLA Cub

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Thank you very much for the help. The buck we have is very big. The picture I posted is from a few months ago. He probably weighs 10+ pounds.

promiseacres

Herd Master
Reaction score
Any of the "giant" breeds are slower growing than you typical meat rabbits but people do raise them for meat. I personally would hesitate if he's 3,4 pounds bigger than the doe.

If you're selling them as meat you might find buyers. Pet people generally like under 5# rabbits imo. So depends on your market. Checkered giants are pretty high energy also. Hard to say as he could have some Flemish in him too.

Bunnylady

Herd Master
Reaction score
I think your rabbit is probably a mixed breed, but I see no reason to believe that there is any giant breed in it at all. There is no recognized breed called a California Giant, so I think the breeder is either confused or making things up.

This is a Checkered Giant: