New to goats

Pjhobbyfarm

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I am new to goats we just purchased 3 pygmys that are 4 months old. 1 female and 2 neutered males. They are very skittish I am looking for suggestions on how to get them to warmup to us. I am also wondering what treats are safe/not safe for them.

B&B Happy goats

Herd Master
Reaction score
Thinly sliced carrots work real well for a healthy treat. Go sit where they are and read a book or just sit there, they will get used to you....hold your hand out with some sliced carrots and let them eat. Soon enough they will come to you for scratches and love when they see you walk into their area, enjoy your new goats ! :frow

AmberLops

Herd Master
Reaction score
@B&B Happy goats gave a great suggestion....sit with them and offer treats! That's the best way to get them used to you. It won't take long ;)
I had 2 sheep that were very skittish and I got them used to me by doing the same thing...I sat in the pasture with them and offered them treats. The ram warmed up to me more than the doe but she came around a bit too.
Things goats should NOT eat (to name just a few)……..chocolate, avocados and nightshades. There are many more things goats shouldn't eat!
What my goats used to love.... watermelons, peaches, bananas and pumpkin :)

Pjhobbyfarm

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Thinly sliced carrots work real well for a healthy treat. Go sit where they are and read a book or just sit there, they will get used to you....hold your hand out with some sliced carrots and let them eat. Soon enough they will come to you for scratches and love when they see you walk into their area, enjoy your new goats ! :frow