New Zealand buck breeding/behaviour issues

Rex79

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm fairly new to breeding rabbits for meat - only had my first Rex kits a few weeks ago. But....

I need advice concerning my 6 month old New Zealand White buck - Each time I have put in my 5 month old NZW doe he jumps around biting her, tries to do the deed any which way and misses the mark. My doe was receptive to breeding but is now agitated and the last time I put them together she lashed out. I don't know if my doe is pregnant as there may have been a successful fall off so going to keep an eye on her for now.

He is happy to be handled by myself, my husband and my two daughters and he likes to be stroked on the head. Its just when a doe is involved he goes a bit nuts!

Will this behaviour change as he matures?
Any advice?

secuono

Herd Master
Reaction score
He doesn't know what he's doing. If this continues, the doe will get more upset and potentially badly injure him or continue to be aggressive to all bucks. The buck will also get worse and frustrated and may get aggressive.
Sit the doe down and put the buck right behind her, guide him in the right direction until he gets it correct. Stop letting them both mess around.

Rex79

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Thanks, I'll wait and see if my doe is pregnant and then maybe give this ago. I really don't want to freak out my doe so maybe a more experienced buck would be better.

Ridgetop

Herd Master
Reaction score
5 months is a bit young to breed your NZ doe. Are you sure she was receptive to the buck when he was jumping on her? You don't want him to get attacked and be put off breeding which can happen with a young, inexperienced buck. He is definitely inexperienced so if you can use him first on an experienced doe it will help calm him down and teach him how to go about it. Another thing you can do is to hold him in the right place when he breeds. Some of these guys get excited and need guidance. LOL