New

gishpar

Just born
Reaction score
Hi: My name is Patricia. I raise barbado blackbelly sheep. I am interested in promoting as well as receiving info on these sheep as I am still a beginner, although, I have had them about 3 years now. I am not a big time shepherdess. I only have 5 adults and three lambs. I am more of a hobby farmer. I am interested in raising my sheep holistically. We are blessed in our town with a vet who goes our of his way to treat our animalas holistically first but then will use commercial meds if the holistic does not work. We all love him to death and he has awards from our town for his care and love of all our animals in our area. I love my sheep. People say they cannot be tamed but I have two adult rams who come up to me for their rub on their chins and around their horns. They only come if I have food or treats ut that is okay. Yesterday, I too an orphan lamb out for mingle with them. Ramsey came to me for his caressing and then Rambo came up and for the first time let me give him a rub on the chin and horns. I was ecstatic. My orphan lamb's mom to a neurological disease and our vet could not save her. He has been raised in enclosed area so when I let him out he comes back in and begins to get a fever so I am concerned that he may not make it as a grown ram due to his fever bouts. My vet gave me lixotonic. I put one teaspoon in one milk replacer feediing per day. He fever then comes down but yesterday, I put him out for three hours. His temp was normal when he went out and went up when he was back in after an hour or two. Anyway, I love my barbado sheep. The best breed I have had yet. I am glad I found this site and hope to be a consistent member.

micah wotring

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
:woot
Welcome, Welcome, Welcome!!!
:D