Harmony_Homestead

Just born
Reaction score
Hello!! Newbie here. Just decided we were going to start a homestead and embark in a new journey of acquiring some fainting goats and some chickens....to start off. Anyone have any good advice or pointers we'd be greatly appreciative. Decided the best thing to do was gather info before we take the plunge.
A few things we are wondering is:
when is the best time to get these animals?
What can we start doing now to get ready for them?
And about how much do they cost to feed?
Thanks!

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Greetings @Harmony_Homestead :frow from the front range in Colorado! :welcome! Wow, where to start... Have you also joined http://www.backyardchickens.com/ yet? If not, there's gonna be a LOT of :caf <--- this and :pop<--- this in your immediate future!:cool: Read all that you can and don't be afraid to join threads and ask questions! In answer to the first question; When's the best time to get the animals... Most of us got them and THEN worried about housing them :gig Perhaps the other way 'round is better? Aside from housing, you can really start whenever YOU are ready. Most of us went with "the sooner the better!" Hence the housing issues :confused: