Newbie here...

Giggles

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I am new to keeping goats and I am trying to figure out how much hay, and what type is best for my goats. I will have 5 kid (3 wethers to be, 2 females) and 1 adult female. I know makes are not supposed to eat grain, correct?
I am bottle feeding 2 right now because their mother didn’t feed them, they are now 3 weeks old, when do I need to start giving them hay. They do have access to a large area of our yard to browse.

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Many feed their goats just basic grass hay. Others (like myself) go all the way to alfalfa hay (typically the best - horse hay). In my case, it was what they would (and wouldn't) eat. I tried coastal bermuda and Tifton, neither of which they liked, and don't have access to orchard grass hay here, which others use with no issues. I feed all my goats (adults, kids, males, females, wethers) alfalfa hay 24/7 free choice. The kids have been nibbling on it since 1-2 weeks old and now eat it as part of their daily fare (7 weeks tomorrow). Yours should have hay available to them now (at 3 weeks) free choice. I also feed all my goats (all) a 16% pelleted feed. Most do not feed adult bucks or wethers grain/pellets and limit them to just hay. My adult male & his wether companion are just at a year old and still growing. I have found that the pelleted feed helps them to grow better and stronger. And, the does need that extra nutrition while in production of milk. I used to mix an actual grain sweet feed with the pellets but no longer do. I up the ration amount durinmg lactation and decrease it when they are dried off. Body condition/age/growth dictates feeding regimen