Newbie X breed questions

Wayne Kellen

Just born
Reaction score
I am new to rabbits as of yesterday. I built a hutch that is 5' x 7'. It is 3' above the ground with wire bottom. Then 2 foot up from there to the roof. It has 3 quarters. Each is 2'4" wide x 3' long x 2' tall that is all wire around with a solid roof. Each also has a 2'4" wide x 2' deep x 2' tall closed in section with bedding. My daughter wanted a bunny, so I figured I would start with 3. Funny how that works. My goal is for her to have 3 pets and me to get offspring from them for meat. We went to the local Rural King since I don't know any local breeders. They really didn't have much to choose from. She ended up picking out a female NZW, a mini Rex male, and a female dwarf something. I know, not what you want for meat. Now to my breed question....

Will the NZW doe bred with the Mini Rex buck produce a rabbit that will be somewhat edible after 10-12 weeks? Also, if I keep a doe from said X breed, will it possibly throw a little larger breed also, or will the mini trait be more dominant?

Also what if I keep a buck from the cross and breed it to the two does instead of the mini Rex? Will they end up a larger breed than the mini and dwarf?

Thanks,
Wayne

promiseacres

Herd Master
Reaction score
As you know the only true meat type you bought was the nzw.... a mini rex is only 4 to 6#... though body type is similar. It's a toss up if you'll get the growth you want.
my opinion is let her keep the small bunnies for pets and find a meat type buck. There are tons of fb groups for selling rabbits, craigslist, check arba's site for local shows. Lots of places to find a good sized meat type buck. Sounds like you're handy, so build another cage set up for 3 more cages as it allows for another doe, plus a grow cage as kits should be weaned at 6 to 8 weeks.

Hens and Roos

Herd Master
Reaction score