Nigerian Dwarf goat house questions... Complete Newbie, advice please!

Sunny & the 5 egg layers

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I eventually would like to get 2 Nigerian Dwarf Wethers and I was wondering what exactly do they need for a shelter? I have a 10 by 10 run in shed made for a horse and I am planning on that being their goat house. Would I need to insulate it? And also, I heard that it is a good idea to make stall for your goats in case one is sick, you can seperate them, how many stalls would you make for 2 goats? Do they sleep in the same stall at night? How much room do Nigerian dwarfs need?
Thanks in advance.

AlaskanShepherdess

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
It will depend on where you live etc. I live in Central Alaska and m,y goats did great in a small insulated house, and it gets REALLY cold here. :)

Fluffygal

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Hi Sunny,

I am a new goat owner with 1 pygmy doe named Bella and 1 nigerian dwarf wether named Rufus. I live in Texas where we do not get that many super cold days.
Both of my goats live in a 10 ft x 30 ft kennel (we put together 2 10ft x 10ft dog kennels to make it). Recently I rearranged the pen to were the north side has the cover and got help in wrapping the north side with one huge tarp to keep out rain and wind from the North, west, and east side. I put down some pine shavings to make the area under the covered end warmer and comfy. Shavings are pretty easy to clean up n replace as needed.

I did recycle an old large dog house that both goats easily fit into and can snuggle up together in. I have 2 hay bags hanging (one with alfalfa hay and 1 with regular type hay). I have added rocks, sand, concrete blocks, and made a balance beam in the pen for them to play on.