Nigerian or Pygmy???

Ardizzone7

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
hi everyone! I'm new to goats and bought a small herd of 5. Doe, Buck and 3 kids. (2 wethers and 1 dueling). I was told they were Pygmy but knew the Buck was Nigerian. However I am unsure about the doe. What do you think? Any guesses? She is pregnant now but looked more thin and angular when we got her.

Ardizzone7

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Here she is.

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    230.7 KB · Views: 70
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    92.4 KB · Views: 93
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    138.9 KB · Views: 80
  • image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    213.2 KB · Views: 83

NH homesteader

Herd Master
Reaction score
@frustratedearthmother

This is the second Nigie or Pygmy post today. We should play guess the breed, haha.

I'm leaning Pygmy or cross myself, but I can't get the pictures to get bigger and I'm on a cell phone... So I'm not very helpful!

What interesting colors though!

Ardizzone7

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I know. Most of her coat looks Pygmy but her white face is throwing me off. Also her face is longer than a Pygmy. The lady I got them from wasn't any help. When I started saying different goat terms she gave me a blank look lol. I fell in love with them so I bought them anyway. The reason I need to know is that we were thinking of showing the kids in 4H. If she is Pygmy then we have to show them as a meat type goat.

Ardizzone7

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
Also she has long hairs down by her hocks on her back legs. Is this breed specific or possibly gender specific? Only my doe and doling have it. The boys do not.

frustratedearthmother

Herd Master
Reaction score