Not eating well (Bottle babies)

Gone Country

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Ok here's the story. Husbands grandfather has tons of goats (like 70+). One of them gave birth to twins Thursday of last week. This was her 3rd set of twins. The previous sets died. She has no milk so grandfather said if we wanted to try and bottle feed them we can. He said she'll be getting sold soon since this seems to happen with her.

So I've been taking care of these kids since Friday night. It took me a couple of days to even get them on a bottle. I have no experience at all with farm animals. None. :hide I'm basically using my skills as a small animal vet asst to aid in my raising these babies. I've raised newborn kittens and puppies before... but nothing with hooves. LOL

My question is the boy doesn't seem to have much of an appetite. He will eat some. But not as vigorously as the girl. Give her the bottle and she just goes to town on that thing.. sucking slurpy noises and all. Pretty darn cute too. hehe Not him though. He will suck on the nipple some, but is rather slow about eating. I've tried using whole milk (as suggested by grandfather) and even tried the replacement stuff to see if he had a preference. Tried different types of nipples as well.

Is this something I should be concerned about? Is there anything I can do to maybe help trigger a better appetite? Any and all suggestions appreciated! :hugs

haviris

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
To be honest it's hard to say, it could be something, or it could just be him. If he was older and had been eating well til now I'd say it's probably a bad sign, but I've had some that were just slower eaters.

username taken

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
my first question is, since the doe had no milk and it took you a few days to get them drinking well, did they get any colostrum?