Our new sheep feeder! What's your thoughts on this?

soarwitheagles

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Happy holidays to all!

Ok, complete, total newbie here. Read for several days from several different sheep forums and blogs about the importance of having good sheep feeders. Discovered we desperately need a sheep feeder.

Picked a design I thought was fairly nice, modified it somewhat and then worked my bottom off for two days on them [building two of em'].

I thought I would post a pic of the feeder and ask for comments, suggestions, constructive criticisms, encouragements, etc.

I had some galvanized sheet metal laying around and decided to use that instead of bottom board of plywood.

My first preference would have been half barrels with metal vertical rods, but I do not have an arc welder. I simply used what we had laying around.

Please share your thoughts and ideas.

Thank you,

Soar

Feeder 1.JPG

Attachments

• Sheep pic 1.JPG
    Sheep pic 1.JPG
    138.1 KB · Views: 258

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
Looks great! Should work well for you and the openings should be small enough that the sheep horns won't get caught up.
:thumbsup

Will work great for goats too.:) Keep in mind if you do get goats they are a little different than sheep... sheep can eat hay that is left out in the weather, goats cannot.

See, if you weren't on the wrong coast than you could "practice" more and make mine. :D

Nice flock! :)

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
What a nice looking gaggle of sheep ;) The feeder looks excellent. Holes look small enough so they don't pull a whole flake out and stomp it into the ground also.

Looks like you're experiencing some wet weather too. I'm sure that's a nice Christmas present... Maybe a little later you can put a roof over it to keep the hay dry, when it does rain there once or twice a year...

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
It looks great.