Pedigree Question

rowegirl

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I am wanting to eventually work up to having an all pedigreed netherland dwarf herd. I bought a buck and a doe before I knew about pedigrees and registering so they do not have pedigrees. I am currently buying a false Charlie with the option of a pedigree for just $10 more. I hadn't heard of Charlies before so I read up on them and found out that they are non showable. So my question is should I pay the extra $10 for the pedigree or not worry about it?

Marie28

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I have no knowledge about being non-showable, and I've just gotten in to rabbits. All 3 of our rabbits had pedigrees ( meaning that I have the name, weight, and color/breed for 4 generations) and I did not pay extra for them to give me a printed piece of paper... Is it normal to pay extra?
I would think that if your goal is to have a great pedigreed line then you should get only rabbits with pedigrees and give yourself a head start.

rowegirl

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
I am just starting out with rabbits too so I am not sure what the norm is. I just bought my daughter a holland lop and I told the lady I wanted him only as a pet but price never changed and I got his pedigree. I know around here in tn they sell pedigreed rabbits for a few dollars less to people who just want pets. The Charlie I'm getting has a pedigree but I didn't know if it was worth paying extra for his pedigree since he isn't showable.

promiseacres

Herd Master
Reaction score