Pitbulls killed 200 goats

alsea1

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Thats awful.
I certainly hope they round up the guilty dogs.
I read some of the comments on the article.
I myself am leary of this breed. They are so powerful that if something goes wrong it really goes wrong.
Of course any dog that has not had the proper training can be a menace.
I am not a proponent of more government taking even more control, such as you need to prove you have the nec. skills and what not to own a dog. But I say that if someones dog does damage to you or yours you should have complete and full right to shoot to kill.
No bull crap lawsuits afterwords. Because if the dog was at home, he would not be shot now would it.

BlondeSquirrel04

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
The comments are pure BS.

As the owner of 3 Pits, I find all the hate to be based completely on ignorance and media hype. Notice how many times they said "Pit Bull" in the article? The media is making them a villain, as they have been doing for years. If it was a positive Pit story, you'd hear the breed name once, if at all. But I digress...

Any breed, when loose and in a pack, has pack mentality. Yes, even Labs and Goldens, the "Family Dogs". Just had a friend of mine's Labs attack a fellow Lab. One started it, and the others jumped right in. "Pack attack" happens in dogs, wolves, and many other species.

Goats are prey animals. Most dogs have prey drive. Since the Pit Bull is a terrier, it has a high prey drive (usually). It's sad for the goats, yes, but you can't blame animals for being animals. Even household pets revert back to a feral state when left in the wild for some time.

With that said, any dog that enters my fence will leave with a bullet in it's head if it attacks my goats. It is our responsibility as owners to keep our animals safe. And as a pet owner, I take responsibility for keeping my 5 dogs inside and contained.

elevan

Critter Addict ♥
Reaction score