Please tell me about Coyotes

mrbstephens

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I live on Long Island where coyotes have been unheard of till the past couple of years. There have been several sightings. I have no experience with coyotes and how to keep my animals safe from them. Please tell me how to keep them out and what else to expect. Thank you!

blueberrygirl

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I am in a semi rural part of northern indiana. We have plenty of coyotes here, see them often, & hear them every night. We have never had a coyote attack. We have a German shepherd that runs free & have always kept our chickens close to the house. 2 yrs ago we started using a portable electric fence for the chickens & also had about 10 that roamed free in the yard with no troubles. One time part of the fence was down but I think it was most likely a neighborhood dog. We got goats last fall & they are farther from the house but still within earshot. We have them enclosed in about 1/2 acre in a 7 wire electric fence on a solar charger. No problems. Truthfully we have had more problems with dogs (ours included - not the shepherd tho), raccoons & opossums. It might be different if we kept the animals "out back" on our 38 acres tho. We keep the animals as close to the house as we can & use the electric fence as a precaution. I'm sure the dog helps too.

alsea1

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Coyotes can become a problem once they figure out your livestock are easy targets. They are very smart animals.
Most people in my area shoot them whenever they see them. They are viewed as vermin.
They do serve a great purpose in keeping rodent populations down in my opinion.

Bossroo

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Coyotes can become a problem once they figure out your livestock are easy targets. They are very smart animals.
Most people in my area shoot them whenever they see them. They are viewed as vermin.