Poorly treated chick, hoping to rescue. Need help.

Tyler J Walsh

Herd lurker
Reaction score
I currently have 6 Leghorn chicks, all five weeks old. This is my first time raising chickens. All 6 is what I've started with, I've had no deaths and they are all doing amazing. My girlfriend was browsing through Craigslist and sees an ad for a chick that needs to be rehomed. I hope to save it but I don't want any chance of harming my 6 current chicks. What should I worry about, what course of actions should I take if I do get the 2 month old chick? If it needs to stay in a separate room for another two months (even though 2 months old is when they should go into the coop) I can make it work.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    188.7 KB · Views: 97

Tyler J Walsh

Herd lurker
Reaction score
Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this, I just hope I can get the info so I can get the chick before some other kid wants a cute chick pet to neglect.

Carol0622

Just born
Reaction score
I would def quarantine until you know it's safe to introduce to your flock.

Carol0622

Just born
Reaction score
I would also be saving it ASAP and figuring it out later .

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
There are some diseases that no matter how long you quarantine it doesn't matter because those diseases can lie dormant.
MG is one, and you could be bringing in carriers.
Know who you are getting chicks from. Don't risk it.

Tyler J Walsh

Herd lurker
Reaction score
Ok, and what sicknesses can a chick get from not being treated right? For 2 months old that chick looks both smaller than my 5 week olds and is a lot less feathered. Any recommendations on tests to give or signs to watch for to indicate any illness? If there's any illness that I wouldn't want around my chicks I may be able to find a relative that would take care of it as a pet but at least those people would treat it very well as they use to have flocks of ~30 for years.

Wyorp Rock

Ridin' The Range