pot belly piglet question

1eyejer

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
im thinking about aquiring a pregnant pot belly pig,,do need to remove teeth from the piglets???

PattySh

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I have no experience with pot bellies but I just had a full size litter of piglets and at birth removed the teeth with a pair of flat pliers and they still scratched mama up quite a bit. I recommend it. Do it at birth tho while they are still a bit sleepy. They get "rugged" real fast!

jhm47

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
I would snip them off. When we raised commercial hogs, if we didn't do it, we would have problems. There are a total of 8 "needle" teeth. They are needle sharp, and can cause quite a bit of pain to the sow, and also to the babies on the teat next to them. I used a side cutting pliers and just cut them off. Didn't seem to hurt the babies at all, and they went back to nursing immediately.

PattySh

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
jhm47- Do you take the teeth off right to gum level. I was a bit nervous doing that the first time and boy do they wiggle. I may have not gotten them short enough?

PS- my heifer came into heat so didn't need the patches! Wrote it on the calendar so I will be able to breed her hopefully in March.

elevan

Critter Addict ♥
Reaction score
On the boys you also should remove the scissor teeth as they can do MAJOR damage when they are older with them.

drdoolittle

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Just found this older post about cutting piglets teeth. I was wondering the same as PattySh----do you snip the teeth right at the gum? Also, where are the scissor teeth on the males? I have to cut my piglets teeth tomorrow morning, and am really nervous about it----don't want to injure them. I'm also going to give them their iron shots---but someone told me the paste you feed them works better. What do those of you with experience recommend?

elevan

Critter Addict ♥
Reaction score